PTNA logo                                    Login to WebSpirit

Sunday 3 July 2022

Professor Andrew Davidson - PTNA Chairperson

Andrew Davidson is Senior Staff Anaesthetist and Director of Clinical Research for the Royal Children’s Hospital. He is also Head of Anaesthesia Research at the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Head of the Melbourne Children’s Trial Centre and Professor in Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne.

Andrew trained in anaesthesia in Melbourne, Nottingham, Rotterdam and Boston. He has received a Diploma of Biostatistics and Epidemiology and Doctorate of Medicine (MD) from University of Melbourne. 

Currently editor in chief (elect) for the journal Paediatric Anaesthesia, Associate Editor for Anaesthesiology. He has been awarded four NHMRC grants along with major research grants in Canada and the UK, and is the ANZCA Lennard Travers Professor.

A member of the ANZCA Clinical Trials Group and chair of the SPANZA research sub committee.

Find out more...

Professor Jim Buttery

Professor Jim Buttery is a paediatric infectious diseases physician and vaccinologist who trained in Melbourne, Australia and Oxford, United Kingdom.  He has been involved in the development of multiple vaccine candidates including Meningococcal and Pneumococcal glycol-conjugate vaccines, Japanese encephalitis vaccines, and is an investigator in the development program of the RV3 candidate Rotavirus in trials in New Zealand and Indonesia.  He has worked as a consultant for WHO in vaccine safety and is a member of the Strategic Priority Group for the Global Vaccine Safety Initiative and is an investigator in the Global Vaccine Safety Multi-country Collaborative Project. 

Professor Buttery is Professor of Paediatric Epidemiology at Monash University.  He is the Head of Infection and Immunity and the Director of Research at Monash Children’s Hospital, and also the Head of Monash Immunisation at Monash Health.

He leads SAEFVIC, the Victorian immunisation safety service.  He is president of the World Society of Paediatric Infectious diseases, and the Australian Advisory Committee of the safety of vaccines.  He is a member of the Medical Specialist Advisory Committee. Professor Buttery has over 120 peer reviewed publications.

Professor John Carlin

John Carlin is Director of the Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics Unit within the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and University of Melbourne Department of Paediatrics at the Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, and has a professorial appointment in the Centre for Epidemiology & Biostatistics, School of Population & Global Health, University of Melbourne.

Professor Carlin has a national and international reputation in biostatistics, with over 300 scientific publications, including several high-profile trials, and has been co-investigator on a total of 28 NHMRC grants since 1990. He leads the Victorian Centre for Biostatistics (ViCBiostat), an NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence (with colleagues at Monash University and the University of Melbourne).

Find out more...

Professor Chris Cowell

Director of Research, Sydney Children's Hospital Network, and Paediatric Endocrinologist, The Children's Hospital at Westmead, Professor Chris Cowell is a Conjoint Professor of the University of Sydney; staff specialist in paediatric endocrinology; and was Head of the Institute of Endocrinology and Diabetes from 2003-2010. He co-led the development of the Paediatric Trials Network Australia (PTNA).

Professor Cowell has >160 peer reviewed papers. For the past 5 years, he has been cited >300 times annually. He has designed and conducted randomised controlled trials (RCT’s) and an NHMRC part funded birth cohort study and is a Co-CI on a NHMRC funded longitudinal follow up study.

Find out more...

Professor Jonathan Craig

Prof Jonathan Craig

Head of Clinical Research, The Centre for Kidney Research, Westmead.

Personal Chair in Clinical Epidemiology in the School of Public Health at the University of Sydney.

Chair of the NSW Better Treatment 4 Kids research network.

Paediatric Nephrologist, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead.

Find out more...

Dr Koert de Waal

Dr Koert de Waal was born in the Netherlands. His training as a paediatrician and neonatologist was conducted in his home country and the Dutch Caribbean with postdoctoral training at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital in Sydney to master functional echocardiography. His interest is in neonatal haemodynamics, especially heart lung interactions. He completed a PhD in central blood flow measurements at the University of Amsterdam in the Netherlands.  

Dr de Waal currently works as a consultant at John Hunter Children’s Hospital in Newcastle, NSW where he continues his research in neonatal haemodynamics and novel echocardiography techniques.

Rebecca Lennon, PTNA Executive Officer

Rebecca has a background in cancer clinical trial management and is currently undertaking a Juris Doctor. Her clinical trial history includes trial management at Cancer Trials Australia, managing the ethics and compliance department at Monash University and the Austin Health Cancer Clinical Trials Centre which was a joint unit with the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research. She is a trained project manager (PMBOK) and has a Health Promotion degree. Most recently Rebecca was a project manager for the Department of Health (Vic) and Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre. 

A/Professor Helen Marshall

Director, Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, VIRTU.

Women's and Children's Hospital, Women's and Children's Health Network.

Associate Professor (Level D), Discipline of Paediatrics, School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health, University of Adelaide.

NHMRC Career Development Fellow, University of Adelaide.

Research Priority Leader, Child and Adolescent Health, Robinson Institute, University of Adelaide.

NHMRC Research Translation Faculty member.

South Australian Representative, Steering Committee, Paediatric Trials Network Australia.

Member of the Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee, Therapeutic Goods Administration.

Director, Adelaide Medical Students Foundation Board.

Clinical Research and Drug Development Pillar committee member, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute.

Member, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveilance Scientific Advisory Committee.

Find out more...

A/Professor Peter Richmond

Consultant Paediatrician and Paediatric Immunologist, Princess Margaret Hospital for Children.

Associate Professor, School of Paediatrics and Child Health, University of Western Australia.

Head, Department of Clinical Research and Education, Child and Adolescent Health Services.

Honorary Research Fellow and Director, Vaccine Trials Group, Telethon Institute for Child Health Research.

Deputy Chair, Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunization, Commonwealth Department of Health and Aging.

Find out more...

Professor Ian Wright

Professor Ian Wright is the inaugural Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health Research at The University of Wollongong’s Graduate School of Medicine. He works within the Illawarra Medical Research Institute, a collaboration between UOW and the Illawarra health service. He also remains a Conjoint Professor in the Hunter Medical Research Institute of Newcastle University.

Professor Wright has pursued an interest in the physiology of the microcirculation, developing tools for study in the preterm infant and leading to new discoveries that could influence our understanding and treatment of the sick newborn in the future.  His research interests include all aspects of newborn care but focus primarily on the cardiovascular adaptation following preterm birth; for which he holds National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grants. He has received international recognition for projects on the effect of gender on neonatal cardiovascular adaptation.

Find out more...